Books, Reading

164 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Westfield London Book Club

A talk on Evelyn Waugh's Scoop, about Lord Cooper the fictional newspaper magnate.

Foyles, London WC2H

Tue 29 Apr

Free / 020 7437 5660

  • 19:30 – 20:30

What No Sat Nav?: Course

Practice the ancient skill of map reading used by pilots, ships captains and explorers from a now bygone age.

Lymm Dam Ranger Cabin

Wed 6 Aug

Free / 01925 758195

  • 13:30 – 15:00

Wooer with Words

An afternoon of poetry and prose for all of Falkirk's literary souls.

Coffee on Wooer, Falkirk

Sat 3 May

Free / 01324 278026

  • 14:00 – 17:00

Sat 7 Jun

Free / 01324 278026

  • 14:00 – 17:00

Sat 5 Jul

Free / 01324 278026

  • 14:00 – 17:00
…and 7 more dates until 7 Feb 2015

Word Play

Open mic night (five-minute slots) with acoustic music, poetry and prose, hosted by the Word Factory.

Riverside Museum, Glasgow

Fri 16 May

£2 suggested donation / 0141 287 2660

A special 'busking session' in the museum's subway.

  • 13:00 – 16:00

Fri 29 Aug

£2 suggested donation / 0141 287 2660

A special 'busking session' in the museum's subway.

  • 13:00 – 16:00

Tron Theatre, Glasgow

Wed 7 May

£2 suggested donation / 0141 552 4267

  • 20:00 – 23:00

Wed 4 Jun

£2 suggested donation / 0141 552 4267

  • 20:00 – 23:00

Wed 2 Jul

£2 suggested donation / 0141 552 4267

  • 20:00 – 23:00

Wordplay

A spoken word cabaret, featuring performances from local poets and performance poets Adam Kammerling and Anna Freeman.

G Live, Guildford

Wed 9 Jul

£10 (£8) / 0844 770 1797

  • 19:30
back to top

Wordplay

A chance to visit the beautiful Shetland Isles and soak up some literature. For its readings, writing workshops, children’s theatre events and book signings the festival welcomes writers of local, national and international renown.

Shetland

Thu 13 Nov

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01595 743843

Fri 14 Nov

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01595 743843

Sat 15 Nov

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01595 743843

Sun 16 Nov

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01595 743843

Words, Words, Words

Informal readings of short pieces (2–4 pages) by playwrights at all stages of their work. To have your work considered, email short scripts (5–10 mins) to literary@traverse.co.uk.

Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh

Tue 20 May

£6 (£4) / 0131 228 1404

  • 20:00

World Book Night: Book Give Away

Enjoy some bookish chat amid the library's shelves as part of the UK-wide World Book Night initiative, which launched in 2011 and is the biggest celebration of adult reading in the UK. Remember to pick up a copy of your free World Book Night chosen titles.

Glasgow Women's Library

Thu 24 Apr

Free / 0141 550 2267

  • 17:30 – 19:00

Thirty Nine Steps, Broadstairs

Wed 23 Apr

Phone for prices / 01727 867201

  • 19:00

World Book Night with Blackwell's

Blackwell's celebrates with readings and chat from a host of its favourite authors, including Jenni Fagan, John Burnside and Angela Jackson. Booking is essential.

Blackwell's, Edinburgh

Wed 23 Apr

Free (ticketed) / 0131 622 8222

  • 18:00
back to top

Write It Mic It

Monologues, duologues, poetry, prose and even the odd song perform them yourself, palm one off on an actory type or just sit back and take in all the creativity in the comfort of the Attic.

Hackney Attic, London E8

Thu 17 Apr

£5

  • 19:30 – 23:00

The Writing Room Showcase

Top writers take to the stage.

Rich Mix, Bethnal Green

Mon 28 Apr

Free / 020 7613 7498

  • 19:00

Writing the North: A Celebration of Orkney and Shetland Writing

An afternoon of talks and discussions on 'Writing the North', a year long project that explored continuities between the writings of contemporary Orkney and Shetland poets and writers and the history of Northern Islands literature. At 2pm Professor Penny Fielding and Professor Alison Lumsden discuss 'Walter Scott's Tour…

Shetland Museum, Lerwick

Sat 10 May

Free / 01595 695057

  • 13:30

Zena Edwards, Simon Mole And Molly Case: Readings

Spoken word performances by performance poet Edwards, poet Mole and writer Case.

Bristol Old Vic

Tue 27 May

£6 / 0117 987 7877

  • 20:00