Late night events, Books

18 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Pub Quiz: Let's Get Quizzical

Do you know your Harry from your Beatrix and your Chicken Licken from your Dickens? Prove your bookish mettle at our festival-finishing pub quiz! Prizes, larks and music guaranteed. Teams of up to 6 players.

Bonar Hall, Dundee

Sun 26 Oct

£5 per team. Proceeds to the National Literacy Trust / 01382 434940

Part of Dundee Literary Festival.

  • 21:00 – 22:30

Scribblers

A self-led and informal creative writing group inspired by rooms within the house.

Gateshead Central Library

Fri 26 Sep

Phone for prices / 0191 433 3000

  • 21:30 – 23:30

Fri 3 Oct

Phone for prices / 0191 433 3000

  • 21:30 – 23:30

Fri 10 Oct

Phone for prices / 0191 433 3000

  • 21:30 – 23:30

Fri 17 Oct

Phone for prices / 0191 433 3000

  • 21:30 – 23:30

Bar 1:22, Huddersfield

Tue 23 Sep

Phone for prices / 01484 480252

  • 21:00

Tue 30 Sep

Phone for prices / 01484 480252

  • 21:00

Tue 7 Oct

Phone for prices / 01484 480252

  • 21:00
…and 3 more dates until 28 Oct

Snape Maltings Concert Hall

Sat 8 Nov

£10 ( £7.50; £7.50; Children £7.50 under 16s)

  • 21:45

Colour Experiments: Talk

Explore the science behind colour with Ben Craven, including how to make a black thing look white, how two lights can be the same but different at the same time, and why we are all colour blind.

Guildhall Arts Centre, Grantham

Thu 25 Sep

Phone for prices / 01476 406158

  • 23:00 – 12:00
back to top

Comics Day

Comics Day 2014 will celebrate comics and their relationship to other media, including literature, film, television, theatre, games, and the internet.

Bonar Hall, Dundee

Sat 25 Oct

£15 / 01382 434940

Part of Dundee Literary Festival.

  • 00:00 (Sunday morning)

The Continental, Preston

Thu 2 Oct

Free / 01772 499425

  • 21:00

Thu 16 Oct

Free / 01772 499425

  • 21:00

DIBI (Design It Build It) 2014

DIBI (Design It: Build It) is back!

The Biscuit Factory, Newcastle upon Tyne

Mon 10 Nov

£85–£175 / 0191 261 1103

  • 21:30 – 18:00

Tue 11 Nov

£85–£175 / 0191 261 1103

  • 21:30 – 18:00

The End Festival 2014

Across seven venues in the Crouch End area, a host of local and international underground bands will be performing, as well a mini-conference featuring guest speakers, international delegates and members from The Local, will be appearing. Among the bands are O'Hooley & Tidow, Amor De Dias, Eliza Shaddad, Billy…

Earl Haig Hall, London N8

Sun 23 Nov

£15

  • 21:00

Fred Moten and Miss Prissy: Mutual Instruments

Poet Fred Moten and dancer Miss Prissy collaborate in a combination of reading and performance.

Tramway, Glasgow

Sun 28 Sep

£6 for Sunday pass; £14 for weekend pass / 0845 330 3501

Note: this event was originally advertised as featuring dancer Storyboard P, who has had to cancel his appearance at Arika 6. Part of ARIKA14 Episode 6: Make a Way Out of No Way.

back to top

God Of The Breakthrough: Conference

Witness God's Spirit, intimate worship, miraculous healings, and great teaching at the annual church conference. Includes guest speakers, worship leaders, and host Jarrod Cooper.

Doncaster Dome

Sat 18 Oct

£10 / 01302 370777

  • 21:30

How to Speak Money

John Lanchester blows open the world of finance, exploring everything from the trading floor to the jargon-filled language of the economic elite, taken from his book How to Speak Money.

The Salon, Cheltenham

Sat 4 Oct

£8

Part of Cheltenham Literature Festival.

The British Library, London NW1

Fri 14 Nov

£25 (£15; £18) / 0843 208 1144

  • 22:30 – 17:30

Road

Cambridge University Amateur Dramatic Club presents Road in a performance which includes poetry.

ADC Theatre, Cambridge

Wed 19 Nov

£6 (£5) / 01223 300085

  • 23:00

Thu 20 Nov

£6 (£5) / 01223 300085

  • 23:00

Fri 21 Nov

£6 (£5) / 01223 300085

  • 23:00

Sat 22 Nov

£6 (£5) / 01223 300085

  • 23:00

Robin Ince At Worthing Skeptics

The renowned co-presenter (with Brian Cox) of the Infinite Monkey Cage is coming to speak to Worthing Skeptics for our first anniversary gala event.

Barneys, Worthing

Mon 13 Oct

£5 / 01903 527 075

  • 00:00 (Tuesday morning)