Aly Bain & Phil Cunningham

comments

This article is from 2009.

Aly Bain & Phil Cunningham

Aly Bain, Scotland’s celebrated traditional fiddler, and Phil Cunningham, renowned accordionist/composer, amongst numerous other things, have teamed up to bring their considerable talents back to Scotland in an extensive tour, which takes them to all corners of their homeland.

Guild Theatre, Greenock, Fri 21 Aug; Queen’s Hall, Dunoon, Sat 22 Aug; Eastgate Theatre, Peebles, Sun 23 Aug; Albert Halls, Stirling, Tue 25 Aug.

This article is from 2009.

Aly Bain & Phil Cunningham

Musical double act Phil and Aly bring together a plethora of musical talent and witty banter.

Buccleuch Centre, Langholm

Sat 20 Sep

£17.50 / 01387 381196

  • 19:30

Carnegie Hall, Dunfermline

Fri 5 Sep

£18 (Children £17; Seniors £17; Students £17; Unemployed £17; Registered Disabled £17) / 01383 602302

Eden Court Theatre and Cinema, Inverness

Sat 30 Aug

£20.50 / 01463 234234

Also on at:

Ceol Cholasa

Four-day folky fest on the Island of Colonsay with some great acts appearing. This year’s line-up features Bella Hardy, Battlefield Band, Rura, Kathleen MacInnes, David Francey, Mairearad & Anna and others. There is also a series of workshops and a ceilidh.

Colonsay, Isle of Colonsay

Thu 11 Sep

Times & prices vary

Fri 12 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sat 13 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sun 14 Sep

Times & prices vary

Shetland Fiddle Frenzy

A week-long summer school and festival celebrating the music and the musicians that have led Shetland to become one of the world’s most highly acclaimed fiddle playing regions. As well as music classes and concerts, it offers classes in drawing and painting, and traditional knitting techniques, as well as cultural trips…

Shetland

Sun 3 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01595 743 843

Mon 4 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01595 743 843

Tue 5 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01595 743 843

…and 5 more dates until 10 Aug

Fringe By the Sea

Returning for a third time after two years of offering a more peaceful alternative to the madness of Edinburgh in August, 'Fringe By the Sea' packs another full programme with performances, music, films, comedy and 'In Conversation' sessions with book authors. For the first time, this year's programme includes theatre.

Picnic Concert with Aly Bain and Phil Cunningham

Enjoy exceptional Scottish folk music from these two stalwarts of the folk scene in the great outdoors. Bring a picnic and something to sit on and relax in the sunshine (hopefully). For those with a taste for luxury - reserve a Gazebo pitch with a group of friends for £100 + individual ticket prices. You can also order a…

Comments

Post a comment