Advertising

  • Online Advertising
  • Classified Advertising
  • Magazine Advertising

To advertise call us on 0131 550 3064 or e-mail digitalsales@list.co.uk

Definitions

Actual Impressions
The number of impressions that are actually delivered as opposed to the number of impressions that are planned to be delivered in a campaign. Although impressions can be delivered in precise amounts over campaigns of millions of impressions, there are usually some minor variations due to technical reasons.
Ad impression
An advert that is served to someone's browser when they access a page.
Ad server
A powerful publishing server which delivers the ad to the viewer. These servers are often hosted and managed by a third party rather than the media owner. Typically they also count and report the numbers of ads served.
Banner
A type of online advert that generally runs as a horizontal strip across the top of the screen. For an example of a banner advert, please click here
Browser
A software program that can request, download and display documents on the worldwide-web. Typically, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox or Safari.
Buttons
Advert that consists of a graphic in the shape of a button. Clicking on a button will execute some part of a program - usually taking the viewer somewhere else such as a website or a microsite.
Click
When a visitor interacts with an advert i.e. clicks on it to be taken to the advertiser's destination.
Cookie
A small file that uniquely identifies the user's browser. When a user logs into a site, cookies are often stored so that the user is identified again when they return to the site where the cookie was originally made.
Cost Per Thousand (CPM)
The price of 1000 page impressions. For example 50,000 page impressions at a cost of £15 CPM = (50 x 15 £CPM) = £750.
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
This is the number of people that click on your online advert to find out more information about your product or service. Online advertising is fully accountable in that it gives you an accurate and measurable response rate. The CTR is measured as a percentage of the total number of advert impressions. For example, if the advert is clicked 250 times on a serving of 100,000 impressions, the CTR would be 250/ 100,000 x 100% = CTR 0.25%.
Domain Name
The unique name that identifies an internet site.
E-mail
Electronic mail. Text files that are sent from one person to the next over the internet.
Flash
Macromedia's graphics file format that is used to display interactive animations.
GIF ( Graphics interchange Format)
A graphic format that compresses files to make it easier to store and display images.
Hit
No longer used as a measurement of web traffic. When users access a website, their computer sends a request to the site's server to begin downloading a page. Each element (graphics, text etc.) is recorded as a hit. Webmasters use hits to measure their servers workload, however they are NOT a good guide to traffic measurement. Since page designs vary from site to site the number of hits bears no relation to the number of pages downloaded.
Homepage
The main page/ main entry point to a website.
HTML E-Mails
(Hyper Text Markup Language) An e-mail that can be sent with graphics, video and audio components. list.co.uk has around 5,050 registered users who allow us to present third party offers to them via our newsletters. If you would like to see an example of how your product or service can be brought to our users, then please click here.
Impression
Impressions are the currency in which adverts are counted and sold. See ad impression and page impression.
Impressionable media
A blanket term to describe online adverts such as banners that generate impressions.
Insertion Order
A formal printed order to run a campaign between a buyer and a seller of advertising.
Intranet
Internal network only accessible by the organization
Inventory
The total number of ad impressions that a website or a specific channel has to sell over a given time
IP Address
A numerical address assigned to each computer on a network to distinguish it from other computers. The format is ***.***.***.*** with each number ranging from 0 to 255. For example 228.23.45.101
JPEG
A file format that reduces the size (compresses) of graphics so they can be served more easily.
Landing Page
A page that users click through to from an advertisement. For best results, these pages are highly targeted for the reader and specific to the ad. Landing pages are used for advertisers who either do not have a website or who wish to provide a special offer or email form which does not exist on their website.
Leaderboard
A type of online advert that generally runs across the top of the screen as a horizontal strip. Basically a large banner, for an example of a Leaderboard please click here.
Microsite
A destination page/number of pages that can be built specifically for you to advertise your particular good or service. When someone clicks on an advert or a button, they will be taken to a specially designed part of the host's site where they can access more information about the good or service.
MPU's (Mid-Page Unit/Messaging Plus Unit)
An advert that sits in the middle of online editorial. Because an MPU is surrounded by editorial, it is therefore more likely to be read. For an example of an MPU, please click here.
Page Impression
A measurement of the number of downloads of a page. Basically page impressions calculate the number of pages accessed by users over a period of time (usually a month). For example if I visit www.list.co.uk and look at 5 different pages I will have generated 5 page impressions.
Pixel
The measurement used to indicate the size of graphics (i.e. 400 pixels in width).
Rate Card
The list of prices and products and packages offered by www.list.co.uk. You can download this in PDF format here.
Reach
The unique users that visited a site over the course of the reporting period.
Registration
A process for site visitors to enter information about themselves which enables them to proceed and view restricted content. Often used for data capture.
Rich Media
Online adverts with moving graphics and often sound. Rich media comes in a number of different forms and tends to get the best response rates of all online advertising.
RSS Feed
Standing for either Rich Site Summary or Really Simple Syndication the feed can consist of summarised content such as news feeds, events listings, discussion forums or even corporate information.
Run of Site
Adverts can be targeted through specific sections or put on a run of site (i.e. across the whole site).
Skyscraper
A type of online advert that generally runs down the right-hand side of the screen as a vertical strip. For an example of a Skyscraper please click here.
Sponsorship
Specific parts of the website can be sponsored. Thus you could have www.list.co.uk Film or Music channels in association with your company. It is more targeted than run of site advertising. For an example of sponsorship, please click here.
Traffic
A generic term used to describe the number of visitors and page impressions that a website receives.
Unique user
The number of people who have accessed a site and been served content.
Website
The virtual location of a person/organisation on the world wide web.